2008 ARIDO Awards of Excellence Honors Ontario's Best Interior Design

Published on September 25, 2008

2008 ARIDO Awards of Excellence Honors Ontario's Best Interior Design

Published on September 26, 2008

The Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario (ARIDO) announced the winners of its 24th annual ARIDO Awards of Excellence, during a gala dinner last night at the Direct Energy Centre.

This prestigious awards program honours innovation, creativity and professional achievement in the province’s interior design industry. Judges of this year’s entries chose to recognize 23 designs from 11 separate categories. Among the winning entries were six Awards of Excellence and 17 Awards of Merit.

“The wide range of award-winning projects demonstrates the breadth of interior design talent across the industry and the province,” says Franca Rezza, president of ARIDO. “The Association takes great pride in the contribution its members make to public and private spaces. Our members’ designs emphasize the need for inspiring safe spaces in all realms of the built environment and to build public awareness of our professional capabilities.”

Evaluated by seven esteemed representatives from media and design, each entry was judged on its own merit and on the specific circumstances under which it was completed. In their submissions, entrants were asked to consider existing design elements, budget and project objectives, strategies employed, overall creativity, examples of project results, client feedback and elements of sustainability.

The projects of this year’s recipients speak to every space imaginable, from a residential green roof, to a museum exhibit, to a floating boardroom. Awards of excellence were given in six categories demonstrating that good design can be employed wherever we live, work and play.

Three of these projects highlighted outstanding work in the corporate sector, with two awards given to Dean Matsumoto (Kasian Architecture Interior Design & Planning Ltd.) for his work on the Kasian Toronto Office and within it, a special collaborative work and social gathering space anchored by a stainless steel light table, known as its Touchdown area. Also representing excellence in corporate interior design is Sharon Martens (Martens Group Licensed Interior Design Studio), whose work for the Pengrowth Corporation illustrates an unexpected contemporary approach to embracing traditionalism in the workplace. Martens also received an Award of Merit for the custom lighting created for the space.

Remarkable work also emerged from the residential sector, with two projects looking to enhance the way we live. An Award of Excellence went to Connie Braemer’s (Connie Braemer Design) spectacularly executed Osler Chalet, carried out in conjunction with Ray Murakami, Architect, which married and transported two log cabins from Quebec to Ontario. Another Award of Excellence went to Elaine Cecconi (Cecconi Simone) for her work on her own private residence. Her business partner Anna Simone took home an Award of Merit in the residential category, for her Carport and Green Roof project.

The sixth Award of Excellence was handed out to Fang-Pin Lee (Reich + Petch Design International) for her project, Butterflies and Plants, Partners in Evolution, completed in collaboration with Hayes, Seay, Mattern & Mattern, architects. The exhibit at the National Museum of Natural History in Washington, D.C. playfully tackles the biology of butterflies and through its design, engages adults and children alike.

ARIDO congratulates all 2008 ARIDO Awards of Excellence recipients.

Awards of Excellence - Collaborative

Osler Chalet
Connie Braemer/Connie Braemer Design

Butterflies and Plants, Partners in Evolution
Fang-Pin Lee/Reich+Petch Design International

Awards of Excellence

Private Residence
Elaine Cecconi/Cecconi Simone

Pengrowth Corporation
Sharon Martens/Martens Group Licensed Interior Design Studio Ltd.

Kasian Toronto Office
Dean Matsumoto/Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Inc.

Touchdown Area
Dean Matsumoto/Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Inc.

Awards of Merit - Collaborative

Renfrew County Courthouse Renovation and Addition
Attilio Labriola/Norr Limited Architects and Engineers

Awards of Merit

Sick Kids, Cardiac Diagnostic and Interventional Unit
Francy Thorne/ Parkin Architects

Liberty Market Lofts
Kelly Cray/Chapman Design Group

The Hazelton Hotel
George Yabu and Glenn Pushelberg/Yabu Pushelberg

Hotel Novotel Montreal Aeroport
Keith Rushbrook/II by IV Design Associates Inc.

Piggly Wiggly
Karen Currie/GHA Design Studios

Mizuki Grill Teriyaki
Joe Cho/J. Cho Design Inc.

Bryan Chartier/Core Architects Inc.

Clayton Budd/64th and Queen

Cabbagetown Coach House
Bryan Chartier/Core Architects Inc.

Carport and Green Roof
Anna Simone/Cecconi Simone

Toronto Residence
Fenwick Bonnell/Powell and Bonnell

Bortolotto Studio
Tania Bortolotto/Bortolotto Design Architecture Inc.

Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
Ellen Roland/IBI Group

Allsteel Canadian Showroom
Christopher Wright/figure3

Awards of Merit - Branding and Wayfinding

Air Miles Reward Program
Caroline Hughes/figure3

Awards of Merit - Specialty Element: Custom Decorative Lighting

Pengrowth Corporation
Sharon Martens/Martens Group Licensed Interior Design Studio Ltd



Found in: ARIDO Awards