ARIDO Announces the Appointment of New Representatives to the Association's Board of Management

Published on March 31, 2011

ARIDO Announces the Appointment of New Representatives to the Association's Board of Management

Published on April 01, 2011

The Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario (ARIDO) is pleased to announce the appointment of three new representatives to the Association’s Board of Management. ARIDO welcomes incoming association president Eliisa Petersen of Petersen Design, Sudbury, alongside two new directors on the occasion of the ARIDO Annual General Meeting, held March 31, 2011, at Toronto’s Allstream Centre.

A long-time ARIDO Registered Member and past president of the Northern Ontario Chapter, Petersen brings a wealth of experience to her new role and is poised to strengthen the Association’s industry leadership and public image. Having graduated from Ryerson in 1984, Petersen has demonstrated an intuitive sense of leadership and innovation throughout her career.

Her professional experience in cities around Ontario has given her unique insight into the different challenges faced by the interior design industry in large and small cities. “I am honoured to be taking on the role of ARIDO president,” says Petersen, “and feel my past experience has prepared me for this new challenge. I am committed to working with my board toward the development of the interior design industry’s professionalism and strengthening the Association’s image within the public realm around the province.”

Having successfully completed her term as association president, Theo West-Parks of Westparks + Associates assumes the role of Past-President. Sue Bennett of Bennett Design Associates Inc. will hereby assume the role of ARIDO President-Elect.

As David Sapelak, Dave Sapelak Design, Kitchener completes his term on the board, Clinton Hummel, Paisley Park Inc., North Bay and Alexandra Samouk, IBI Group, Toronto enter the final year of their three-year terms as directors. Debra Dravis-Heming, Prism Partners Inc., Toronto and Janine Grossmann, Kasian Architecture, Toronto, will begin their second year with the board. Meanwhile, newly appointed members of the board Lucia Toffoli De Biasio, LDB Design Inc., Richmond Hill and Heidi Painchaud, B+H Architects, Toronto will begin their three-year terms as directors. In addition, ARIDO is pleased to introduce Sharon Portelli, who will be joining the ARIDO team at the Toronto head office and taking on the new role of Registrar for the Association and will be an ex officio member of the board.



Found in: board