ARIDO Announces Winners of Scholarship and Awards

Published on March 12, 2009

ARIDO Announces Winners of Scholarship and Awards

Published on March 13, 2009

ARIDO (The Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario) announced the winners of its student awards and scholarships at the Association’s Annual General Meeting held March 12 in Toronto.

The Norma Ruth Ridley Scholarship winner for 2009 is Jenny Neilson of Algonquin College, Ottawa. This $2,000 award is given annually to a third or fourth-year student who has been nominated by their school to compete for this ARIDO scholarship. The successful candidate has demonstrated a commitment to the profession of interior design through a project submission and interview with the ARIDO scholarship committee.

When reviewing this year’s submissions, one committee member commented, “Just seeing the submissions makes me realize how much further ahead the students of today are than I was at that stage in my career."

Two other ARIDO student members were the first to receive scholarships from CTI Working Environments this year. Andrew Donald of Sheridan College in Oakville and Melissa Lehoux of La Cité in Ottawa each received $500 scholarships in recognition of their support of the profession through their volunteer efforts and enthusiasm.

The scholarships were created following a request by CTI Working Environments to work with ARIDO on a unique, annual event that would raise money for both a charity and the Association. As a result, the design event titled Signatures was born. Fifty-eight plates creatively painted by designers from the GTA were auctioned at the first event last November. A total of $5,200 was raised, with 50 percent going to this ARIDO scholarship fund and 50 percent to Stop Community Food Center.

For a second year, Mo Coulter of Harvest House Craftsmen presented awards of $1,000 to the five highest scoring candidates of the National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ) exam in 2008. A long‐time, enthusiastic supporter of the interior design profession, Coulter created the award to recognize ARIDO intern members for their hard work and commitment to the profession and to celebrate its future. This year’s winners of the Harvest House Craftsmen Awards are Jennifer Hann, Finny Halim, Julie Hawkins, Meghan McBride, and Barbara Steele.

All 48 ARIDO members who successfully completed their NCIDQ exams will be honored at their chapter AGMs, to be held over the next few weeks throughout Ontario.



Found in: award