ARIDO Honors Key Players in the Interior Design Community

Published on March 13, 2009

ARIDO Honors Key Players in the Interior Design Community

Published on March 13, 2009

ARIDO (The Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario) announced its newest Honorary and Fellow members at its Annual General Meeting, held March 12 in Toronto. Honorary and Fellow Memberships are the highest honors ARIDO can bestow on an individual and are reserved for those who have truly excelled in their contributions to the profession and/or the Association. Six key players in the interior design community received these prestigious awards this year.

Barry Carroll of The Global Group and Tom Bernard of Octopus Products became Honorary members of ARIDO. They are both founding members of IIDEX/NeoCon Canada, Canada’s largest trade show which is owned by ARIDO. The trade show, which last year saw more than 400 exhibitors, 16,000 delegates and 25 association partners, is celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2009.

Barry Carroll, VP of Product Marketing at Global Group has been in the furniture business for more than 25 years. He is one of the most passionate, supportive industry partners and volunteer ARIDO has ever had. He was a member of the original IIDEX steering committee, has served as its chair on three different occasions, and has been at every show since its inception in 1984.

Tom Bernard was also one of the founding members of IIDEX and remained a member of the committee for several years after its inception. He joined his family business, Octopus Products in 1981. The company focuses on specialty decorative finishes, surfaces and materials. Octopus has participated with an exhibit in IIDEX every year. Tom has been a great mentor to ARIDO student members, always being available to give material lectures and presentations.

ARIDO’s newest Fellows are Robert Chaban of Robert J. Chaban & Associates, Joseph Pettipas of HOK, and Georg Yabu and Glenn Pushelberg of Yabu Pushelberg. This award is presented to Registered ARIDO members whom the Board of Management feels have contributed significantly to the advancement of the Association and/or the profession.

Robert Chaban was president of ARIDO in 1991 and 1992. A leader in the Association’s developing years, Bob Chaban was always an eager volunteer and continues to be involved today. He will be the honorary chair of the 2009 ARIDO Awards Gala, to be held September 24 during the IIDEX/NeoCon Canada show.

Joseph Pettipas was president of ARIDO in 1993, 1994 and 2003. He was a founding member of the IIDEX steering committee and served as chair for several years. In addition, he chaired the Membership, Bylaws and the Building Committee of ARIDO, which oversaw the purchase of ARIDO’s former office at 717 Church Street.

George Yabu and Glenn Pushelberg of Yabu Pushelberg are multi‐award winning designers with offices in Toronto and Manhattan. The two have shown brilliance and leadership in interior design innovation. In 2004, they were awarded honorary Doctorates from Ryerson University: the first recipients to receive this honor in the field of interior design. Also that year, they donated their design services and created the magnificent Atrium in Ryerson’s then new Engineering Building, which is used to host important university events.

The duo also established a major endowed scholarship at Ryerson University for a fourth year student whose projects articulate innovative solutions illustrating critical thinking and creative problem solving.



Found in: ARIDO Fellows