New Slate of Representatives for Ontario's Interior Design Community

Published on March 12, 2009

New Slate of Representatives for Ontario's Interior Design Community

Published on March 13, 2009

ARIDO (The Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario) is pleased to welcome a new slate of representatives to the Association’s Board of Management. Deborah Rutherford of HOK assumed her new position as president of ARIDO at its Annual General Meeting, March 12 in Toronto. An active member of the Association, Rutherford has a strong understanding of current issues facing the interior design industry in Ontario.

Since becoming an ARIDO member in 1985, Rutherford has held various positions with the Association. She was a board member from 2004‐07and has been co‐chair of several ARIDO committees including Membership, Education, and Education: Regulations and Standards. She has also been a juror for the ARIDO Awards and the National Council for Interior Design Qualifications (NCIDQ) exam.

“It is an honour to be elected ARIDO’s president,” says Rutherford. “I look forward to working with our members and staff during this, ARIDO’s 75th anniversary year, to support and promote our industry throughout Ontario and beyond.”

Franca Rezza of figure 3 completed her term as president and assumed the role of past-president, while Theo‐West Parks of Westparks + Associates Inc. accepted the position of president-elect.

Helen Dawson, who is self-employed, and Anne McCance of Cannon Design enter the final year of their three‐year terms as directors, while Sue Bennett of Bennett Design Associates Inc., Uxbridge, and Dave Sapelak of Sapelak Design, New Hamburg, are in their second year as directors. Clinton Hummel of Paisley Park Inc. in North Bay, who has just completed his third year on the board, was re‐elected to another three-year term as director. Joining him as a new director is Alexandra Samouk of IBI Group.

Two liaison positions round out the new board. They are Eun‐gi Shin of Colarossi & Associates, as Intern Committee Liaison, and Alex Murphy of Sheridan College, in the newly created position of Educator Liaison.



Found in: board